Skip to content

Melted Rainbows – Gen.6 – Ch. 59

November 18, 2012

“Wow Honey, you’re such a wimp. You should work out or something,” I said humorously as I watched Honey struggle with carrying a heavy box filled with tools over to the elevator.

“Shut up!” she groaned, finally reaching the elevator and setting her box down next to the one I had carried in. The elevator was now filled with books and the other last-minute tools we needed for the place. We were finally done moving in.

I clicked the button to bring us to the top floor where my new apartment and work place was located. Honey stood next to me, crossing her arms and glaring down at the floor.

“So did I tell you someone answered me about renting out the extra bedroom?”

“No, you didn’t,” Honey replied, uncrossing her arms and looking at me with interest.

I smiled and shrugged, “Yeah, I guess he’s from Briocheport.”

“Oooo, the big city. You know I wanna live there some day.” She smiled and began to play with her hair.

“Cities are dangerous places you know. Isn’t this one big enough?”

The elevator dinged signaling we arrived on our floor. I gathered together both boxes and carried them in, leaving Honey empty-handed. Her heels began to click behind me as we moved through the building.

“This place is looking really good,” she commented. I nodded my head in agreement, surveying around me. It was amazing how adding just a few paintings and furniture pieces could change the whole atmosphere. The room was themed with the colors purple and blue.

My phone began to give off its shrill cry, making me almost drop the heavy boxes. I threw them to the floor and answered my phone.

“Hello? Uh huh. Yeah, just come right up, we’re already here,” I answered the questions as they spilled out of my phone. Honey stared at me quizzically as she listened to the one-sided conversation.

I hung up the phone and smiled at Honey. “The potential roommate is on his way up.”

“Great. I have to approve of him too, you know. I don’t want to be working in a place with some dirtball walking around.”

“I don’t think it’s your choice to make, dear. But just to make you feel better, I don’t think I want that either.” I winked at her.

The elevator dinged, and as the doors slid open a tall blue berry appeared. Honey’s eyes instantly lit up as she saw him. He had a certain glow to him; his face alight with confidence.

“Hi! I’m Honey,” she said excitedly as she approached the man. They shook hands before I stepped up to do the same.

“And I’m Mist, as you probably already assumed.” He turned his head and smiled at me, eyeing me curiously before returning to Honey’s beaming face.

“I’m Paradise Azure, it’s nice to meet you in person,” he said in his low voice. Honey giggled and brought her hand up to his arm. That’s when I realized she was attracted to this guy, and for the first time in my life I felt a twinge of jealousy.

“Come on, I’ll show you around,” I said through gritted teeth. I grabbed Honey’s arm, pulling her a bit too forcefully as I walked down the room. She glared at me and I returned it with a smug smile.

The tour was short, and in the end Paradise said it was a perfect place for him to live. So, within the week, Paradise was fully moved in with what little amount of luggage he had. Part of which included his cat.

“What the berry is that?” I asked, beginning to step away as I watched the red fur ball slashing out in his hands. He held it at arm’s length as he walked through the apartment.

“This is my cat, Fang.”

“I never said you could have pets.”

“Well where else is he going to go?” he asked. The cat was only growing more irate the longer he held it.

“Is it a nice cat?” I asked quietly. staring at the red and blue polka-dotted cat. As I finished the question, the cat managed to escape his arms and go running around the room. I shielded my face as it turned around and came running straight at me.

“Holy fudge!” I yelled, trying to move out of the way. The cat missed me and ran under the couch, hissing and glaring at me. It was definitely not a nice cat.

“Yeah, he doesn’t like people,” Paradise said dismissively before shrugging and walking away.

I shot one more glance in the direction of the cat only to find he was gone. I would have to be extra careful on where I walked in the house now. The cat could strike at any moment.

I began to follow Paradise to wherever he had walked off to tell him he couldn’t keep the cat. Instead, I ran into Honey who was just coming up the elevator.

“Oh hey, Misty!” she said happily.

“Hey.”

“So I talked to Paradise this morning and suggested that we all go out tonight and he was all for it! So be ready at eight ’cause we’re going to a club.”

“Great,” I muttered, not sure if I liked this idea or not.

We headed off to a smaller dive bar that was popular this day of the week. There were a few people, but it wasn’t overly crowded. The only thing I was looking forward to was seeing Ebony. I had yet to talk to her again since that night in the restroom. This time, however, she wasn’t there, so the night dragged on like any other.

Honey pulled me around to dance, drink and socialize with her many friends. Paradise left us almost immediately after we arrived, and since then we didn’t even catch a glimpse of him. A slow song came on and Honey insisted we dance.

“So Mist, what exactly would you consider our relationship?” she asked curiously, keeping her eyes down but occasionally glancing up at me.

I thought her question over because I honestly wasn’t sure. We weren’t exclusive, but why was I feeling jealous when she was talking to Paradise? I never used to get jealous.

“I haven’t got a clue. Why? Does it matter to you?”

“Well, I’ve been thinking I need to get more serious with my life. I’m not going to be young forever. I think I ought to start thinking about starting a family.” Family. I hated the idea of it. My family was a mess, I wouldn’t want to continue that tradition.

“I’m the wrong guy then, Honey.” Her smile faded into a slight frown but soon she was back to all smiles.

“I still have a few years I guess, I’ll worry about it another time. Let’s go get a drink,” she chirped. And with that she pulled me away from the dance floor and over to the bar.

Honey was blabbering something about her shoes to me when Paradise finally reappeared with a pretty girl by his side.

The girl seemed to already be passed out and was using Paradise for support. She was gorgeous, so of course Paradise was able to attract her attention. Sneaking one last glance at her pretty face I returned my attention to Paradise.

“We’re going to go find a hotel, so I won’t be home tonight. I’ll see you both tomorrow.” Honey waved goodbye with a friendly smile on her face and I nodded, uninterested. paradise was finding somewhere else to stay the first night of living in the apartment. If it was that easy for him, why didn’t he just do that every night and not worry about renting a room?

I squeezed my arm around Honey’s shoulders.

“Looks like you’re stuck with me all alone tonight.”

“Oh great,” she said sarcastically, frowning at me before busting into a big grin and kissing my cheek.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2012 11:20 pm

    …I’m actually kind of starting to like Honey…but I don’t think it’ll end well D:

  2. November 19, 2012 1:55 am

    Meh. I still don’t like Honey. Or that blue guy. But he is hawt. 😀 Yaya for a chapter!

  3. November 19, 2012 3:23 am

    I like Honey.
    I really do.
    But Ebony… she… she intrigues me.

    But Misty still has my heart forever and always 🙂

    • November 19, 2012 8:22 am

      Yay! I like Honey, too.
      And Ebony will be making an appearance again soon :3 She’s a pretty important character.

  4. November 21, 2012 3:14 am

    I was looking through the forums tonight and saw that you had a new chapter out a couple days ago and i’m like WHAT!? I’m sooo happy for a new one seems like forever and then again not that long:) I have a weird feeling about honey and Paradise though. loved the new chapter and can’t wait for more!

    • November 21, 2012 3:39 am

      Yup! I’m on Thanksgiving break, so I have more time. I’ll have a Thanksgiving special out soon too.
      I’m happy it makes you happy xD
      Thanks!

  5. November 23, 2012 9:07 pm

    I actually like Honey, but I feel kind of bad for her. I’m not too sure how well everything’s going to work out. :/

Leave a comment