Skip to content

Melted Rainbows – Gen.6 – Ch. 71

May 18, 2013

“One week? She was pregnant for a week? I asked incredulously. That was impossible.

Paradise rolled his eyes, which I thought was totally uncalled for. I was still fairly new at this vampire stuff so of course vampires only being pregnant for a week would surprise me.

“Yes. Vampire’s bodies are much stronger, so they can adapt to the changes in their body faster and provide the growing fetus with what it needs quicker. It’s quite painful, but vampires are strong enough to handle it.”

I just stared on in amazement at Paradise as he held my daughter, Nyx. She looked to be already seven months old, and somehow she was already walking and talking.

“And of course vampire children learn faster. That’s how this one here is acting as if she’s a two-year old.” He looked down at the little girl, smiling at her and receiving a giggle in response.

“So she doesn’t.. age faster.. right?”

Paradise stared at me as if I was the dumbest person on the planet. “This isn’t Twilight, Mist. Be realistic.” Yes, because vampires are so realistic.

I sighed, and sat down on the couch. It had been nearly twelve hours since Honey had begun her transformation, which meant it would be complete at anytime now. I knew she would be angry with me, but I was okay with that. She had every right to be.

I had yet to see our newborn child. She was in another room, and I didn’t want to see her until Honey was awake. We had never discussed names, so she remained without one.

I looked out the crack in the drapes of a window to see the sun falling down behind the horizon. Maybe once it was dark I would go for a walk. I needed to do something to clear my mind and waiting around for Honey only let my thoughts fester into worse things.

But as a yellow-haired girl with newly grown fangs slipped into the room I knew all possibility of going for a walk were gone. She didn’t look happy, she had a mixture of worry and sadness across her face along with a hint of anger.

“Mist, why would you do this?” she asked, a sharp lilt in her voice. Tears brimmed her eyes, still only salt water since she had yet to drink her first meal.

I stood up and walked over to her, pulling her in for a hug. “Because I couldn’t live without you. Your daughter needs you, too.” Behind me, I heard Paradise leaving the room.

“I can’t kill people, Mist..”

“That’s what I thought when I was first changed.”

She pushed away from me, a scowl now present on her face. It soon disappeared and dissolved into more tears, deep sobs sounding around the room. I took her in my arms again, letting her cry the last human tears she would ever have.

“Let’s go see our daughter,” I whispered. She nodded against my shoulder and I brought her to the room the girl was waiting for us in.

We entered the nursery that we’d had decorated months earlier to find the small child in the yellow crib, fast asleep. We stopped next to it, watching as she slept. The child was a vampire, but also half human. I wondered if it had the ability to dream. Ever since I was changed, my sleep was devoid of any dream world. It was something I surprisingly missed.

“She’s beautiful,” Honey breathed out. I watched her face as she stared at our child and I knew right then that changing Honey was the right choice. The look of amazement, happiness and undeniable love was priceless.

“Paradise said that as a half human she an go out in the sun. She’ll be able to go to school and live a normal life.”

Honey nodded, a large smile playing on her lips. “Good.”

“What should we name her?”

Honey didn’t miss a beat, her reply came so fast I was skeptical if she was even answering my question, or just happened to say the name she liked immediately afterward. “Hemera.”

Our daughter’s name was Hemera.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2013 11:00 pm

    Oh my jeez one week. Just. What.

    Why can’t every pregnancy be like that? XD

    Oh my jeez I’m sure that both girls are going to be precious ❤

  2. May 19, 2013 2:16 am

    Awh Mist you’re gonna have such purty daughters :O

  3. May 19, 2013 2:30 pm

    Awh, Nyx looks so adorable. As does Hemera, I look forward to see them grow.

Leave a comment