Skip to content

Melted Rainbows – Gen.6 – Ch. 61

December 27, 2012

It was a Monday and I was out at the bar with Honey. I didn’t work on Monday’s, so Honey and I usually found ourselves hanging around each other doing nothing productive. We were watching the news, but nothing interesting was happening in the berry community lately.

I sat with a drink in my hand, sliding my fingers across the glass and watching as it wiped away the cold condensation. The television reporter began to discuss a missing person, making me more interested. I lifted my eyes up to watch.

“Just forty-eight hours ago a young woman by the name of Velvet Cupcake was reported as missing. She was last seen on Friday night after going out to a club with a friend. If anyone has any information please call…”

I sat completely still in my seat, my heart beat picking up speed as a picture of the girl popped onto the screen. I had seen that girl. She was with Paradise when he left. Chills ran through me and I looked over to Honey to see if she made the connection too. Her eyes were glazed over, staring at the screen. She must have realized it too.

“Honey..,” I whispered, my voice coming out in a croak. She snapped her head over to me and stared with wide eyes. “I’m gunna go back to the apartment and see if he’s there. I’ll ask him about it.”

Honey immediately snapped out of her daze and latched onto my arm, not allowing me to leave.

“No, Mist. Call the police! He isn’t safe.”

“It’ll be fine, Honey. We don’t know for sure yet.” Her eyes were pleading with me as she loosened her grip on my arm. “Trust me.”

I pulled myself away from her desperate fingers and walked out of the bar, my destination being my home. Halfway there I realized something: What would I do if he really did kidnap her? Would he hurt me, too? No, he couldn’t. He would probably deny anything about her. I would just have to wait and see how it played out.

Maybe Honey was right, I should have called the police first. As soon as I stepped foot in my apartment I knew something was wrong. I could hear noises, and they weren’t particularly pleasant sounding ones.

“Holy shit, what are you doing!” I screeched as I walked in on Paradise sucking the life from a now very pale looking girl. Blood ran down his mouth and his face flew up to meet my eyes.

“Oh, fudge. Get out. Now. Oh my berry, I don’t..,” I cried, covering my face. I honestly didn’t have a clue what to do. I was shocked, confused, freaked out and all in all a train wreck. The blood that I suddenly became very aware of made my stomach churn. I had never been able to handle blood well, it made me sick. The metallic smell filled the air, making me gag.

I began to feel light headed, and against my better judgement I leaned up against the closest stable surface I could find. My mind was screaming at me to get out of their, but my feet just wouldn’t move. I glanced once more over to Paradise who had managed to clean up his face, but then I saw the girl’s lifeless body covered in blood. Then I fell over.

I came to, finding myself on my couch. Was it all just a dream? No. It was too real. I looked up to see Paradise sitting on the other end of the couch. I leaped up, pushing myself against the wall.

“What do you want!” I yelled. Paradise smirked.

“I live here, so I’m sitting on my couch,” he said cockily. I stayed against the wall, hoping he didn’t try to kill me, too. “Haven’t you ever heard of vampires?” he asked.

“Vampires don’t exist,” I replied.

He rolled his eyes. “Of course they do. I’m one of them, but don’t worry. I won’t kill you.” Vampires? It couldn’t be possible.

“What’d you do with that girl?” I shot at him, now worrying about her and not myself.

“She’s dead, I got rid of her. Don’t worry about it.” He smiled, and I noticed his protruding fangs. How had I not seen them before? “You know, it’s a good thing you found out.”

“Why?” I asked, my voice coming out cracked.

“You can help me find some food, yes?” He looked hopeful and innocent as he stood up from the couch.

“I can’t do that,” I breathed shakily. How could he ask me to lure people here to their death?

“How about I make you a deal. Do this for me for a month and I’ll turn you into a vampire, too. We’re powerful creatures. Don’t you want to be on the top of the food chain?”

I shook my head, slowing down as I went on. Would it be nice? To feel invincible? To live forever?

“No,” I answered, scooting down the wall and falling to my knees. How could I even consider it? I couldn’t stand blood; I would make a terrible vampire.

“How about I give you a couple of days to think about it? I’m sure you’ll come to your senses.” He smirked at me then turned on his heel, leaving me alone with my thoughts.

“Wanna come back to my apartment?” I whispered in the ear of a gorgeous pink girl. She giggled in response, nodding her head. I smiled sadistically, gently taking her hand and bringing her with me to my car.

It took us a few minutes to arrive back at my apartment, but we were there soon enough. We walked in and I brought her to the living room. Paradise sat up and smiled at the girl. She blushed pinker than she already was and I touched her shoulder.

“I’ll go get us some drinks, you stay there.” I gave her one last smile, this one more sympathetic than anything.

She smiled back, not thinking that anything was wrong at all, then whispered, “Then we can be alone, right?” I grinned at her and nodded, hating myself even more.

I walked into the tattoo parlor and sat against a wall, covering my ears. I could still hear the muffled screams as Paradise attacked her.

What was wrong with me? I was more of a monster than him! The screams eventually stopped and I uncovered my ears. I didn’t move. I would wait until Paradise told me everything was cleaned up. I didn’t want to see the mess he made.

He rounded the corner and stood before me. Crossing his arms as he frowned.

“If you want me to turn you, you’ll have to get used to this,” he said angrily.

I stood up and walked past him. “I’m not as twisted as you, sorry.”

He laughed loudly, following me. “I’m just trying to survive. I have a family. I have kids. I’m not a monster.” This struck me as odd. He never spoke of his ‘family’.

“You have a family?” I asked, whipping around to face him. I didn’t believe it.

“Yes, and they’re humans. Which is why I left them. I don’t want them to have to deal with.. my killings. I used to feed off of my wife, but she was growing so weak,” his voice tapered off so I left it at that. I was about to leave but he spoke up once more.

“The only thing I hate about this is that you see every one you love die. But you.. you don’t seem to have anyone you care about. I’ve seen how you talk to your so called ‘friends’. You’ll be the perfect vampire.” He smiled a blood chilling smile. How could he think he knew me so well?

I shook my head. “I don’t know.” I left the room, going to my bedroom to sleep. I felt so sick even thinking about what I’d done and what I was going to do.

“You’ll get used to it, Mist,” Paradise called through my door. I ignored him and slipped into my bed.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2012 4:04 am

    I like Paradise.
    Only because he’s a real vampire and not one of those stupid ones that refuse to drink blood that we always read about (though I enjoy those stupid ones every once and a while).
    I wish he wouldn’t kill them, though. :/
    Poor Mist has got himself into quite the situation.

    • December 27, 2012 8:47 pm

      I definitely want the vampires to have to deal with killing people. Having them drink blood from a different source seems like an easy way out. πŸ˜›
      Thanks for reading ^_^

  2. December 27, 2012 4:30 am

    Poor Mist what is he thinking by bring poor girls to their death:( unless there’s something wrong with them? I don’t know how i would react in his situation it’s a tough one for sure. Can’t wait to see how it turns out and Yaaa for a new chapter!

    • December 27, 2012 8:39 pm

      We’ll find out more about why he chooses the girls he chooses later. It still doesn’t make it right, though. Thanks!

  3. December 27, 2012 6:49 am

    Damn! Mist has seriously got himself in a bad situation. i man, yeah he doesn’t seem to care about anyone, but I don’t know if he could really take being a vampire. I really don’t know. I can’t wait to find out what happens.

    • December 27, 2012 8:36 pm

      Yeah, he thinks he can handle it, but we’ll see. He might find out that he actually does care for people, but it’ll be too late by that point.
      Thanks for reading ❀

  4. December 27, 2012 9:10 am

    Oh mist what have you done! 😦
    I don’t know wether I can forgive him. Actually changed my mind of course I can. I forgive you mist.

    That was a amazing chapter. I wish I was honey or one of his girlfriends (Which would stay and not be killed or cheated on lol)

    And when there was a headshot of the girl and it showed the top half of her dress I thought she has a finger on her chest Ooops lol (blush)

    • December 27, 2012 8:35 pm

      Can’t stay mad at Mist, huh? πŸ˜› Thank you!
      Lol, I don’t know if Mist will ever have a girlfriend like that. xD

      • December 30, 2012 2:32 pm

        Of course I can’t he is so shmexy! πŸ˜€ No probs
        Oh of course not but if he ever does you know where I am (lol) How are you? And paradise I used to like him but he is so last chapter ago! But now he is a killer. AND HE IS NOT TAKING DOWN MY MIST NO WAY! lol

  5. December 27, 2012 10:38 pm

    Misttty. Waht r u doin. Stahp. ;~;

    • December 27, 2012 10:41 pm

      That’s exactly what I was thinking as I wrote this chapter. xD

  6. December 28, 2012 5:06 am

    Vampire Mist? Wow! Hopefully that, please!

    Can’t wait to see what happens next! πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment