Skip to content

Melted Rainbows – Gen.3 – Ch. 29

May 12, 2012

I unlocked my apartment door with shaky hands, tears already beginning to form in my eyes. I let out a low moan as I rested my head against the door, letting the key hang in the doorknob. I gave the key one more jerk and the door creaked open, thankfully.

I pushed the door closed slowly, hoping Zest wouldn’t arrive home anytime soon. The apartment was dark and quiet meaning I was alone. I rested my back against the door then slid down, scooting into the corner of the room. I fell to my side and laid on the ground. My tears finally fell over my face as I let my feelings come out.

I closed my eyes and heard the elevator ding outside of my door. Footsteps then began to move towards the door, followed by it opening. I moved to a sitting position as I heard a sigh sound from above me, I kept my eyes closed.

Carissma leaned down next to me, pulling me over to her in a hug, I opened my eyes.

“Hun, this needs to stop..” she whispered, pulling back and looking me straight in the eye.

“I- I can’t. They won’t be happy with me- I- no..”

“It isn’t about them. This is about you. It’s about what makes you happy and what you need.” I stood up, Carissma did the same. A fresh river of tears flowed down my face. I fell onto her shoulder. I was so thankful for Carissma. All of my other friends had left me because of how I acted. Carissma was there to support me through it all, even now when I was falling apart.

“What is it that you want?” Carissma asked me gently while stroking my hair, as if I was a child.

“Out of this.. I’m tired of this life.. of all this change. I hate it so much, Carissma. I want out. I want out.. they’ve changed me completely. I’m not even sure who I am anymore, a-and Zest. I don’t understand what is going on.. I… Everything has to be perfect and I’m tired of it. I hate my life- ”

“Don’t you say that, Astral. You can change your life anytime you want. Leave now. Go apologize to your parents, be a mother to your children and get out of this horrible relationship you’re in. You don’t deserve any of this.” Those were her last words as she pulled out of my hug and left my apartment.

I walked over to a nearby mirror and stared at the stranger in it. Skin and bones, along with a too-short-dress my mother would have never approved of. My hair was cut down to my jaw, my makeup heavy from hiding the bags under my eyes from lack of sleep; smeared all over from crying. I looked like a complete mess. I tugged at my short hair, wishing I had never agreed to chop it all off. Short hair stayed in style for about a month, it being the style was the only reason I had changed it in the first place.

I stepped away from the mirror and headed to the bathroom, turning on apartment lights on my way. I reached my destination and removed what little clothing I had on and stepped into the shower. Showers usually helped clear my mind, if only they could get rid of my problems too. I let the water fall over my body until I heard the door to my apartment open and close. It must be Zest.

I hurriedly jumped out and dried off, pulling on a bath robe. I walked down the stairs to find Zest with another girl. Again.

For the first time ever, I blew up, and I mean completely exploded on Zest. Never once had I yelled at him. There’s a first for everything.

“Zest! I am fudging done with you! Get out!”

“Baby, I-”

“No! Fudging. Get. Out. You are literally killing me. The stress from you and work combined is tearing me apart. You let your friends mistreat me and you do it yourself too! If you aren’t here to support me, then just leave. Don’t say you are here to support me, either, because I’ve given you enough chances to try. Just. Go.”

Zest stared at me in shock after that, the girl behind him doing the same. I just about attacked her when she spoke to me.

“No way! You’re Astral Sugar! Can I get your autograph?” she yelped excitedly, a smile about to burst off of her face.

“No. You can leave,” I hissed, crossing my arms. Her smile faded into one of disappointment as she stalked off to the door.

“Astral..” Zest began again, trying to pull me into him.

“Go,” I replied. He went.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Zogirl permalink
    May 13, 2012 10:25 pm

    Go Astral! 😀

  2. May 28, 2012 1:57 pm

    😀 So awesome!

Leave a comment